top of page

Boston Baby!!!

I am officially in Boston mode! One of the coolest moments of the race is seeing this sign..you know you are almost there and I absolutely love that iconic moment of seeing it in the sky! I must admit anytime I see a Citgo sign in town...it makes me smile!

My first Boston was in 2015 and I ran a 3:25. I ran it my fellow zebras!

Then last year I ran it again with the girls and ran a PR of 3:16:22. I tore my meniscus 3 days before the marathon and had zero business attemptting that race but I had already invested so much time into that training and money into the trip. To say that I was in pain, is definitely an understatement.

So thankful for my running partners, Melanie and Andrea to get me through that race. Less than 3 weeks later, I had surgery to repair the knee and then begin the recovery process. So that takes me to 2017!

After the Disney Marathon, my butt needed a break. Okay, really it has been my piriformis that is the problem. Regardless, it has been a pain in the a**. I didn't even hit 20 miles last week but I definitely hit the slopes. Hoping rest was the key to begin Boston training!

This has put me with only 10 weeks of training for Boston. It isn't ideal but I won't have to worry about peaking too early either!

Speaking of training...you need shoes! Look at these that I scored for $54! I can never have enough shoes for training. Currently 5 pairs stored in my closet!

Nike Elites have been my go to shoe since surgery. It has a special cushioning in the forefoot which is perfect to help lessen the impact of my forefoot strike on my sensitive knee. I use them for both distance and speed work, however, one pair will serve as the purpose for distance and the other pair will stay fresher for speed work. They are only good for only about 225-300 miles tops! With at least 200 miles a month....we'll consider these probably equal in value to a $100 pair that gets more miles. Btw, I was never a Nike girl until now.

Let the training begin!!!

What are your favorite training shoes??? I loved Adidas Energy Boost prior to the knee. Jacquelyn is the only girl on her team that trains in Sauvony Kinvaras.

I"m linking up with Tricia and Holly for the Weekly Wrap!

bottom of page