top of page

The Countdown to the Boston Marathon

Less than 2 weeks to go until my 3rd Boston Marathon! As frustrating as this training cycle has been, how can I not be totally stoked for Boston!!! I must say that my training is suddenly improving but it is a little too late. This is where I should have been early in my training, not the week before my race. Hopefully it will help me to just embrace the experience because there isn't another race that I've ever done that is quite like Boston.

Monday - 5 easy miles

Tuesday - 9.5 miles @ 7:32 pace ( 4 X 1.5 @ 6:49 avg pace)

Wednesday - 10 miles @ 7:55 pace

Thursday - 6.2 miles (I coached the high school workout.

3 X 1 milers, 4 X 200 I paced different girls so my paces were 6:26, 6:39, 6:24.)

Friday - 10.2 miles @ 7:41 pace (hit some strong wind on miles 8 & 9)

Saturday - rest day (Jacquelyn's track meet)

Sunday - 11 miles @7:31 pace

Week total 51.9 miles

Quick update on my little zebra...she ran some great races at a local middle school track meet. She brought home first in both events and ran super strong!!! Her final 400 in both events were very impressive and she ran super smart races! So many people think that you just go out and run but it is so much more than that. She has to learn how to run smart and strategize for each race. She has been known to blaze through the first 200 in 32 seconds, which just burns her VO2 in a 3200. This weekend was much different and she didn't go out and lead the 3200. She ran smart and followed for 6.5 laps before making a move and kicked in for the win. Really happy with her mile time considering that at noon it was 88 degrees! She's a little animal!

3200 = 11:21 PR

1 mile = 5:28

We've also been able to incorporate these products into her nutrition.

We have found that on race day that she starts drinking 16oz of water with Energy Nuun as soon as she wakes up so that she is ready for the first race at 8:00. This is a big improvement from the Gasparilla 5K where she didn't drink anything the morning of the race.

Hanging out with her peeps and brothers at the meet!

I met Carlos when he was 25 years old! How did this happen? We just celebrated his 47th birthday! We celebrated on Sunday!

Boston definitely marks the beginning of the downhill stretch til summer when I get to hang out with these peeps! Anyone else ready for summer?

bottom of page