top of page

Boston Struggles - Weekly Wrap #11

I am struggling in every way to get back on this marathon bus...motivation and speed are seriously lacking! Disney absolutely wiped me out in every way possible. I just thought that I was so prepared for the marathon with all of my strength training that it would be like all of the previous marathons where I pop right back into training after a few easy days. That isn't the way it happened this time. My piriformis was highly annoyed after the Disney marathon and honestly the body was tired, more like exhausted. I thought I'd be back into the swing of things in February but it really didn't happen. So I tossed all training plans and ideas aside and decide to just dive back into base training...lots of miles. Nothing else seemed to be working. I couldn't hit a tempo and my speed just wasn't there. After many of weeks of my body begging for sleep, I had to suck it up and just set my alarm clock at 5 o'early to knock out the run. By Friday, I felt like I was getting back into my rhythm and finding my turnover and speed again.

Weekly Summary - 67 miles

Monday - 8 miles @ 8:02 pace

1 hour upper body strength training

Tuesday - 8 miles @ 8:01 pace

(3 X 30, plus 10 pushups)

Wednesday - a double with 8.3 miles at 7:50 pace in AM and 6 miles at 7:55 pace in PM on the trail

Thursday - 6 miles with a perfect negative split (7:54, 7:32, 7:29, 7:24, 7:21, 7:07) followed by

10 hill repeats on the treadmill (5 X 1 min, 5 X 1.5 minutes)

40 minutes upper body and core

Friday - 10 miles (Another negative split run 8:43, 7:57, 7:41, 7:36, 7:34, 7:31, 7:27, 7:29, 7:22, 7:12)

Saturday - off ( soccer mom duties)

Sunday - 20 miles @ 7:59 pace

Everything was falling into place until around mile 8 on Friday. I knew my back didn't quite feel right and was a little sore. By Friday night, I was in a lot more pain and had trouble sleeping. This continued on Saturday. I was originally going to pace a friend at the Florida Half Marathon in Ft. Desoto but with the way my back felt, I thought it was a bad idea. I didn't want to go out there and not make be able to finish. I knew I was going to attempt the run no matter what but I'm really glad I didn't go out to the beach for the half marathon. I was absolutely miserable during the run and struggled to catch my breath the first 2 miles. I'm stubborn and finished the 20 miler. I got the work done and really stayed consistent in my paces.

I believe it was the massage that I got on Thursday afternoon that caused this. I had just recently started going back to this massage therapist that I had used 2 years ago. I felt like he stretched my back and it didn't feel right. I probably should have spoken up and I didn't. My gut was right. By Sunday night, I was in a world of PAIN! I have barely slept in 3 days and my pain level was probably at a 9+ last night. Fortunately this morning seems to have been a turning point and I'm feeling at least 25% better. Lets hope this is the beginning of my recovery. I've taken today off from running and hoping I'm good to go for an easy run tomorrow.

I've tried getting Jacquelyn to try a protein recovery shake after her workouts. She is so picky and so stubborn. My solution was peer pressure. I bought a HUGE variety and brought them along with little shot cups for all of the girls to try. The truth of the matter is that she is doing hard workouts and has to be a bit more serious about her fuel and recovery. When she is doing 10 X 400's at 5:20 and faster pace, her muscles need to repair. Her long run on Saturday was 8 miles with 1 warm up and 2 cool down with meat in the middle at 7:40, 7:30, 7:20, 7:10 and 6:30. Those are serious workouts. It really helped having the girls try the drinks because she was forced to try them!

I wanted to try the watermelon water because I had read a bit about its benefits lately. Most of the girls really liked it but I wasn't a fan. I'd rather just eat watermelon.

The Organic Valley and Core Power were the clear favorites amongst the girls. Of course they loved Fairlife! Wish me luck with Jacquelyn drinking them after her workouts. I haven't had much luck with making her smoothies at home. I was hoping that going the easy route and the recovery drinks being premade that it would be easier to grab and more likely she'd drink them, also thought that chocolate would be a bonus.

What is your go to recovery drink?

I'm linking up with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap!

ALSO LINKING UP WITH COURTNEY @ EAT PRAY RUN DC

bottom of page