top of page

Thinking out Loud

Workouts from last week - Just call me crazy in the gym!

Monday - 8 miles @ 7:34, push ups 25, 30, 40, 35, 20 min of core

Tuesday - 5.25 miles, 80 min strength

Wednesday - 4 miles on the treadmill, 3.59 miles with the team on the trail,

45 minutes upper body strength, plank 7 X 1 minute

Thursday - 8 miles with 3 miles at 7:09, 7:05, 6:50,

50 minutes of plyos with Darcey, 10 min of core

Friday - off

Saturday - off

Sunday - 10 miles @ 7:23, 3 miles with Joaquin at 8:11, 7:30, 6:56

Total mileage - 41.84 miles

After missing my Saturday run for Jacquelyn's track meet, Mother's Day started perfect with a solid 10 miler with my speedy friends Ryan and Jacki. Their easy run is the perfect push for me. 808, 729, 721, 729, 729, 723, 714, 658, 654, cd

I came home from my run and my little man had made my milk and coffee combination in my favorite Boston mug!❤❤❤ He offered to make me Eggos because that was the only thing he could make. Love that kid!

I settled on making some Kodiak pancakes with bananas and blueberries instead. We had a pretty laid back day after a super busy Saturday. The kids helped get the house back in order and that was the perfect Mother's Day gift!

If you saw me on Instagram, this little muffin gave me another mother's day present and vomited in the kitchen sink. Not my first choice of places to barf, but it was at least better than the living room rug. No, it wasn't a stomach bug! He had been playing Minecraft on the XBOX and got motion sick! Yes, he is the same kid who christened my brand new mini van two weeks ago! By the way, he devoured this grilled cheese moments after vomiting! Just keeping it real for all of you mothers out there!

I've been killing the gym like a boss!😉 I've been telling you that I have goals!

Those goals are a double whammy --- beach bikini and it looks like I'm going to run the Rock n Roll half in Chicago! Just couldn't help myself...I'm really focusing on trying to firm up the backside. In June we are heading to the Grand Iberostar in the Dominican for 5 days with Carlos's cousin and friends. Here is a picture of me from the last time that we went with them to Jamaica in 2012.

I am seriously crazy training for a summer half marathon. I don't have big goals. I just really need a race in sight to get back on pace and I've never run a Rock n Roll before! I just want to be in solid 1:31 - 1:32 shape. That will set me up to hit base training and then targeting a December marathon. Speaking of December marathons, I'll take any advice anyone has on these races or if you have other suggestions. Keep in mind that I'm training for a PR.

Rocket City

Jacksonville

Kiawah

California International

I really want to be done with the training cycle by Christmas so I can focus on my kids and family. I wish I could run a November race but I hope that we are heading to the state cross country championships in November with Jacquelyn and the team. I've read good things about Indianapolis but I think it could be a crazy month. Just thinking out loud!

Any crazy summer racing plans???

I'm linking up with Tricia and Holly at The Weekly Wrap and Courtney at EatPrayRun.

bottom of page