top of page

My Blog Debut

Welcome to my new running blog! I’ve played with this idea for a long time. Should I start one or not? One of my favorite things to read online are running articles and running blogs. I was totally motivated by my friend, Heather. I started following her blog when I first moved to Tampa and have continued to enjoy her posts! I initially met her after her awesome race at Space Coast where she placed 3rd overall female and I got my first BQ that day. It has been great to run together lately as she is training for her first marathon since having a baby only 9 months ago. She was a huge help getting this blog going and encouraging me to get it done!

I’m pretty excited this week, not only is this the start of my blog, but on Monday I registered for the Boston Marathon! This will be my 3rd Boston Marathon and I will say that the two previous Boston’s are some of my favorite running memories.

There is something pretty amazing about the energy that surrounds the Boston Marathon, from loading the busses in Boston Common to the athlete’s village in Hopkinton to the amazing crowds of spectators cheering along the course. Running through Wesley College the first year was almost deafening! I was apprehensive the first year I signed up for Boston because I was worried that it wouldn’t live up to the hype that I had envisioned from other people. Much to my surprise, it was so much more! Last year provided an interesting twist to running Boston as I tore my meniscus 3 days before the marathon on my last easy run. At the time, we did not have a diagnosis. I was in a lot of pain but I had already paid for an airline ticket and hotel room, so Carlos convinced me to go no matter what and at least hang out with The Herd girls. I wasn’t able to jog across the street, so I didn’t expect to be able to run 26 miles. I am not a crier but I shed a few tears that weekend. I lined up for the marathon but was constantly planning how I was going to get back to the hotel in Boston if I couldn’t finish. Luckily I have some amazing friends that got me through that race 1 mile at a time and I managed to cross the finish line. I was in utter pain for days, but I ran the Boston Marathon!

Boston 2016 3:16:22

Boston 2016 3:16:22

I look forward to training again this spring for Boston! In the meantime, follow along as I make my comeback from Boston and knee surgery. It won’t all be about running because there is never a dull moment with 4 kids around here. Bear with me as I figure out the blog! I’m still learning!

bottom of page