top of page

Friday Favorites

Happy Friday! Hope everyone has had a great week! I'm not sure if I'm excited that it is Friday or not. My kids are going to keep me busy this weekend with a cross country meet on Saturday morning in Lakeland and soccer games in Fort Myers Saturday and Sunday. Long weekend on the road for me but at least it will be with four of my favorite peeps!

Here is a recap of some of my favorites from this week!

Why didn't someone ever tell me how easy it was to make zucchini noodles? I feel like I've been missing out all this time! I threw together this little meal for myself and liked it so much that I ate it for dinner twice this week and plan on eating it again tomorrow night. So what is in it? Zucchini noodles, just a little bit of angel hair pasta, lots of green peas, leftover grilled chicken and grape tomatoes cut in half. I threw all of that in a pan with some olive oil, minced garlic, shredded parmesan, and a couple of dashes of crushed red pepper. It was delicious and by far my favorite meal this week!

My favorite workout of the week didn't involve running! I decided to take Tuesday off from speed work. I have had several weeks of hard speed work and needed a break from speed before the next training cycle. On Tuesday, I went to the gym instead. I spent 10 minutes on the Jacob's Ladder and 10 minutes on the stairmaster. Then switched and did it again for a total of 40 minutes. I finished with hill intervals for 1.5 to 2 minutes each on the treadmill at an incline of 15 and speed of 5.5. Only way to describe it...that was a kick butt workout! Then finished with some core at the gym.

Wednesday was my favorite day because the kiddos only had half a day of school. I love half days because it gives me extra time with them and gives them a chance to catch up on school projects and homework. It was a beautiful afternoon for some quality time with Joaquin in the pool. Then later that afternoon Jacquelyn and I got our nails done!

After Heather's blog last week, I was inspired to make a favorite dessert around here. My little guy convinced me to buy chocolate chip cookies at Publix on Sunday. I doubled...okay quadrupled the sugar and made them into a version of the Publix yoyo cookie! I smeared white frosting between the two cookies to turn into a sandwich, also known as a YOYO cookie at Publix. My kids thought I was the best. Can you believe I resisted that cookie? Yes, I did! I was trying to eat clean this week. I had a little too much Cinnamon Toast Cereal last week and needed redemption.

Happy Friday and Hello WEEKEND! Stay tuned to my Weekend Wrap on Monday!

bottom of page