top of page

Weekend Wrap

It was a typical weekend for me with my busy kids playing two soccer games and one cross country meet. This was a weekend that Carlos was working in the ER and I was juggling the kids by myself. As much I enjoy watching the kids compete, I am usually exhausted by Monday. This time I was exhausted by the 2.5 hour drive home on Sunday afternoon. Luckily I get to play a lot of alphabet road games for entertainment!

Friday night started with a girl's night at home watching The Voice on DVR. Carlos took the boys to the high school football game while I got to chill at home with my girl! I always try to get Jacquelyn to relax the night before a race and get her to bed early. Sleep and rest are huge pieces of running strong and something we struggle to achieve. I have a hard time getting her in bed on school nights because she always seems to have one more thing to do. It is beginning to make putting her to bed as a toddler look easy! Ohhhhh how I miss those days of the kids being little.

Saturday started with a cross country race in Lakeland. Jacquelyn's race didn't begin until 9:30 and Joaquin's didn't start until 9:50. Can you imagine racing at those times in the Florida heat? She seemed to handle the heat much better Saturday than the previous weeks.

I hope he continues to enjoy running. He got dragged out to cross country by default since he wasn't playing soccer this season. I just love the look of determination and such strong form finishing this race. Jacquelyn and I really enjoy having him along at the meets.

Jacquelyn ran fast at the meet for a time of 11:15 for 3K, which is a 6:03 pace. Unfortunately she lost the race at the finish because she didn't realize the girl was making a kick for the finish. This picture of her just cracks me up! What a little running diva! This is 2 hours after the race and she is still wearing her bib! She was sound asleep on the drive to Javi's soccer game in Fort Myers.

Javi had two soccer games in Ft. Myers. The game only lasted about 5 minutes on Saturday due to the storm delays. I finally got sick of waiting around for the game to resume and went for a run. It was way faster than I should have been going but after watching Jacquelyn race, I wanted to run fast too! Then the storm really hit while I was running and went from light sprinkles to a thunderstorm. I really picked up the pace to get back to the car. So 3 quick miles at 7:21, 6:59 and 6:41. The game ended up getting cancelled. I hate when that happens after so much travel. We went to our hotel and I squeezed in a quick lower body workout of 150 squats along with some deadlifts while the kids showered. On weekends like this, I have learned to be flexible with workouts. I do what I can, when I can.

They are definitely my kids because they were looking for the stairs even though we were on the 4th floor. They didn't take the elevator once this weekend. Of course it is a race to the room!

The soccer game Sunday morning ended in a draw of 0-0. At least it was better than a loss. I treated my goalkeeper to a shake after a long weekend in the sun. I used some of the Trader Joe's fudge in this shake.

I enjoyed my time with the kiddos even though I get tired of the drive up and down I-75 to soccer games. I'm really thankful the weekend went so smooth considering when we got to Lakeland Saturday morning that I realized I had forgotten my purse at home. I was so worried about everything else! Luckily my keychain has a small wallet where I keep my driver's license and one credit card! Has this happened to you before?

bottom of page