top of page

Weekly Workouts

There really isn't too much to my training right now besides building strength. I'm going to decrease the strength soon and add miles to my weekly training. Here is a look at what I did this week.

Monday

7 miles (easy 7:56) followed by upper body weight in the gym

Tuesday

Today was a bit crazier than normal days because I threw in the run with the kids in the evening. It was definitely a bit much for the day but cross country is only a few weeks longer. I really enjoy helping the kids with their workouts.

Speed work on the track at 5:15 AM

0.75 mile w/u

2 X 200 pace 5:30, 5:19 Just trying to get the legs ready to turnover

4 X 800 time 2:56,3:01,3:02,3:07

5 X 100 pace 5:31, 5:11, 5:06, 5:06, 5:09

0.75 mile c/d

(4.25 miles total)

Last 800 could have been better but at least there was only a 10 second spread. I really can’t remember the last time that I did a workout of 800s, so I’m happy to be able to run these times. Previously I struggled to complete speed workouts and got frustrated, which is why I have a timed recovery rather than a jogging recovery. Compound my frustration with niggles and stomach problems and I absolutely dreaded speedwork to the point that I quit doing it. This is huge that I’m back out on the track and have stuck with it for a few weeks.

45 minutes of plyometrics and leg strength in the gym with Mike

3.75 miles at HH Cross Country practice

(paced an interval workout 1 2 3 4 3 2 1 with equal recoveries, effort of intervals was starting at 8:05 and working down to 7:45)

Running with the cross country kids was one of my favorite workouts of the week. They worked so hard in that workout and it paid off at the race on Saturday!

After a day like this I was craving a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

Wednesday

6 miles (little faster than I wanted, 7:47)

upper body weights at the gym after my run

Thursday

8 miles with 5K tempo at 6:40 pace

Friday

1 hour strength at the gym focusing on hips and core. I had a niggle and decided to rest the legs.

Saturday

Suppose to be a REST DAY but ended up doing 20 minutes of a core workout from one of my phone apps. I love my Daily Workout Apps. I downloaded them for free and ended up paying to upgrade. They were only a $1 or $2 each. I have all of them...ab, arm, butt, cardio, leg. If you only have 5 minutes or 20 minutes, you can quickly get in a workout. You can make it more difficult by adding weight or doing the workout twice.

Sunday

4 miles at overall 7:26 pace

Ran with Jacquelyn. This is her long run day. Unfortunately a Florida storm moved in and we were trying to out run it. The same thing happened last Sunday. We ended it at 4 miles and she came in and finished 2 miles on the elliptical. This run was faster than either one of us wanted to run but we were trying to get the miles in. This is her only day that she has a chance to get a long run in with a race again on Friday at Disney.

How was it sunny in this picture before our run? The sky was black when we got home!

Bring on the miles next week!

I'm linking up with Holly and Tricia for their weekly wrap!

bottom of page