top of page

Weekend Wrap

Weekends revolve around two things in the JCA house at this time of year - - - running and soccer!

My oldest son, Javi played a school soccer game Friday afternoon and then played a club game Saturday afternoon. He plays on the field for his school but is the goalkeeper for his club team. I’m so used to being a nervous wreck with him in the goal box that this was such a pleasant change. TRUTH...I hate going to his club games because I'm so nervous. I have made Carlos take full responsibility for Javi's soccer when he isn't working! It is a beautiful relationship because I handle the running, he handles soccer. Well for the most part he handles soccer, somehow I am managing the U8 soccer team this season and talk about a lot of work!!!

Back to Javi and soccer...I noticed something at this game…the kid is fast and in pretty good shape! I had listened to him complain and huff and puff over any miles this summer that I gave up trying to get him to run. Total parent failure...giving up...honestly, just not a battle that I was willing to fight. This week I gave it another try and talked to him about trying to run again. He basically agreed that he needed to give running another chance. We’ll see how many weeks this lasts, but he has a goal race in mind. He’d like to race the open division at the middle school state championship on October 30. He started by running 2 miles last night for a 7:51 pace. I’ll keep you posted on how the next few weeks go.

Jacquelyn and Joaquin had a cross country meet in Titusville. It was the earliest start of the season with a gun time of 7:20. We drove over Friday and spent the night. We had hoped to spend some time with my parents but only got to see my mom at the race.

Florida Runners is a huge event with multiple races. I was looking forward to this race because the kids would finally get a chance to start early compared to a lot of 9:30 starts when it is already close to 90 degrees here in Florida. Remember the rest of the country is starting to feel the temperatures of fall, but those of us in Florida are still melting. The start was about 76 degrees on Saturday, still warm but much better than other weekends. I've really had to adjust warm ups due to the heat. Titusville had a really bad storm the night before so the course was very wet.

This race was a mixed girls and boys race. Jacquelyn prefers to race with the boys. She really feels like she can run faster with them and is a little gutsier. She finished 2nd girl and 15th overall for a 5:57.5 pace with a time of 11:55.30 for 2 miles. Unfortunately like last week, she got out kicked for the win just shy of the finish line. She really is ok with it because she said that she didn’t have anything left for the finish. All we can do is continue to help make her stronger for the races in the next few weeks. It is really exciting to watch her develop confidence in her running and have such great races. Her time this week was basically a 13 second improvement from last week. The picture below is Jacquelyn receiving her medal from 2012 Olympic silver medalist in the 1500m, Leonel Manzano.

Joaquin ran the same race. He is just adorable out there with all of the big kids and really enjoys it! He was so proud of his PR. He came in with a kickin time of 16:02.00.

Not to leave the anyone out! LOL! Did I mean to say, not to leave anyone behind? Really that is a story for another day! The youngest had his share of sports moments this weekend and played in his first scrimmage as a u8! I was totally bummed to miss it but I’m sure this kid is going to have a lot more soccer games in his future.

Totally enjoyed my weekend watching the kiddos play hard, but Monday is so much easier! I took a long nap on Monday. 4 more days until I do it all over again. Time to rest up!

bottom of page