top of page

Thinking Out Loud Thursday

Heather and I met up for a run this morning. It was her her second to last run before the Towpath Marathon. I love my miles with Heather! No doubt in my mind with the perfect weather in Ohio that she is going to absolutely spank that marathon and bring home a BQ! If she doesn't, it isn't the end of the world. That is what we have to tell ourselves when we line up for a race. All of us competitive people out there put so much pressure on ourselves! Absolutely she is capable of a 3:30 marathon! Good grief the woman owns a sweet PR of 3:13!

Picture is a little dark! We were finished before 6AM! Aren't most people sleeping?

I've been a bit obsessed over my cadence lately. Pre surgery I was usually between 175-180 spm on an average easy run. Now I have taken that cadence to between a 182-184 spm. Here is a comparison of a run in March compared to a similar run and effort now.

A few great articles to THINK about. I think there is so much benefit to your running by increasing your cadence. Take a look at them and let me know what you think.

Great article from Runnersfeed on

So my obsession with pace and splits have diverted to my cadence on each run. It has been very rewarding to see the results of this turnover and a longer stride in my speedwork.

So when I'm not thinking about running these days, I'm thinking about these crazy new Halo Top flavors! Anyone else out there obsessed over Halo Top like me and Heather? Right now Birthday Cake Halo Top is my favorite but I have a feeling one of these new flavors might take its spot!

Hurricane Matthew is expected to hit land this evening. My parents have chosen not to evacuate. They've put the shutters up and boarded the rest of the windows. Hoping they are ok tonight but can't help but think about how scary it is going to be tonight in that house with the winds. Praying for safety for them and my friends in Melbourne tonight.

bottom of page