top of page

Time to Believe in the Magic of Disney

Disney is less than 48 hours away!

Disney truly marks the beginning of my obsession with the marathon! It was in 2012 that I began to run more and actually train. I decided that I wanted to mark a marathon off my bucket list before I turned 40. At the time I had been living in Huntsville, Alabama for the past 10 years and thought a little golf and marathon vacation sounded like a great winter escape. Hubs was game for the golf! I trained and was a little too anxious about this first marathon at Disney and pulled the trigger 4 weeks early against Mike's advice. I think I would have been fine if the temperatures hadn't risen 35 degrees the week of the race. I ran a 4:08! What a disaster!

4 weeks later, I ran Disney as planned with Mike. I was still hurting after only completing my first marathon 4 weeks earlier but I managed to squeak a 3:49. Mike has been Carlos' best friend since they were in elementary school. He is an incredible athlete and definitely one of the people that I seek for training advice. I have annoyed him many times over the past several years when I have ignored his advice! I should have listened and never run Rocket City.

So here I am 4 years later and ready to roll again! Mike has decided to run it this weekend too! So excited to see this beast return! He hasn't trained as much as he once did and turned his focus towards his kids' sports but no doubt he'll do awesome! He ran 13.1 Orlando with me! After 4 weeks of training, he ran a 1:41!

Too funny...he is wearing the same shirt..must be his race shirt!

Isn't it crazy how we all become meteorologists the week of a marathon? I have been obsessed over the weather! The temps are much better than the 70s that I've run in every single morning for the past 7 days. But the WIND needs to calm down! Predictions are at 15 mph winds right now. Give me heat, give me rain, but don't give me wind! If I must whine, the temps dropped too fast and no time to adjust to them.

I've got to believe in my training! I've worked hard. I haven't gotten the speed work completed that I would have liked but the tempos have proven the pace is there.

PROVE YOUR DOUBTS WRONG...AND THEN PROVE YOUR DREAMS RIGHT.

Most of the days were nasty HOT. l was wringing out my ponytail after a run.

This pretty much sums it up for the race!

Heather and I met for our traditional Friday run! Ran 5 miles and let me tell you that girl is ready to run #likeaboss! Let the race weekend shenanigans begin!

Have a great weekend and let the miles be magical!

bottom of page