top of page

Weekly Workouts - Week 13

Workouts from last week

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - 8 miles @ 7:45 pace

Wednesday - 1 warm up, 9 @ 7:17 pace

6 miles in the afternoon with the team on a local dirt trail @ 8:15

Thursday - 6 miles @ 7:38 (8:18,7:48,7:33,7:34,7:33,7:13)

4 miles in the PM @8:50

Friday - 8 miles @8:15 with Jacquelyn

Saturday - 16 miles @ 7:35

Sunday - 2 miles @ 7:45

60 miles total

Goal race : Boston April 2017

We got a cold snap for the first time since the marathon weekend in January. Friday morning was 47 degrees! That may not seem cold but it was 20 degrees less than our normal morning temperatures lately. Can Mother Nature not be so dramatic? It was a tough run to get moving but Jacquelyn wanted to get that 8 over with so she didn't have to run 8 miles alone in Melbourne at my parents' house. To make her run easier on Saturday, I gave her a double, 3 miles in the morning and 3 in the evening. I told her to run 1.5 miles out and back and that way it didn't seem overwhelming for her. She called me and said it went great and both runs were a 7:30 pace. She really is a great training partner! As for speed work, she's out of my league! Here is Jacquelyn's track workout from the previous week. She ran 400 hard, jogged 200, 200 hard, then a 2 minute break for a total of 6.

I managed to get my 16 miler done before flying out Saturday morning. It was a solo run for me. Since it was early and dark, I decided to stay in my neighborhood because it is gated and I feel pretty safe in there. And it is always a plus to have a bathroom nearby in case it is one of those kind of runs. Luckily it wasn't! I made myself stop briefly to hydrate at mile 10. When I did that, I removed my long sleeve shirt but quickly realized it was a mistake. I was too chilly without it and the one I had been wearing was too sweaty to put back on. I ended up running inside to Jacquelyn's room because it is closest to the door to grab another long sleeve. Sounds silly, but I hate stopping and rarely do on runs!

I really prefer not to do that kind of mileage in my neighborhood because it is small. I can get about 4 miles in it but that includes a lot of cul de sacs and those are so hard on the ankles and knees. I'm usually a bit more sore after a run like that in my hood. Overall I was pretty happy with the run and really happy to get that 16 miler over with before Vegas.

I had reached the point of hangry, rangry, rungry, etc... by the time we sat down for dinner. I was at 40,000 steps on my Garmin and I had burnt all fuel. I think this was the first burger I had eaten since Heather and I ran Disney.

Sunday was my first day doing strength in 10 days since my back started hurting. If you can believe it, there is still some lingering soreness. Honestly I'm just happy to sleep through the night again! I'm tempted to go back for a "relaxing" massage to see if that might help.

Update on the recovery drinks....thank you guys for the suggestions. Jacquelyn texted me a picture while I was in Vegas of her drinking Fairlife! Yeah! She also drank the Organic Valley and Core Power drinks after her runs last week! This is HUGE! The previous week, she was so sluggish in her workouts and her coach gave her a firm lecture about her recovery and also hydration. She is an excellent water drinker but he wants her to see her drink one of the Hammer or Infinity products. She knew we went business and she has really given them a try. Her favorite is the Nuun energy cherry limeade. She has been drinking that 2 hours before her workouts this week. Such big steps with her! As you can see from her workouts that she needs to take care of her muscles.

Vegas post coming next!

What spring races are you training for?

bottom of page