top of page

He Completes Me

Throwback picture from 1998! We celebrated 19 years on Monday, May, 15!

I was only 22 years old and Carlos was 28 when we got married. To think that we've been married 19 years! I remember thinking only old people have been married that long. Our marriage has been full of adventures! We survived his residency and fellowship and my graduate work, not an easy time in a young marriage when the work in the hospital is endless. I can't tell you how many times I went to the hospital for dinner when he was in medical school and residency...whatever it took to spend time together.

We moved from Florida to North Carolina to Kansas City then 11 years in Huntsville, Alabama before coming full circle back to Tampa, Florida where we originally met in 1995.

This picture was from Carlos' 20 year high school reunion.

Post 20 year reunion - pregnant with number 4! Seriously, who gets pregnant at the 20 year high school reunion? This picture was taken on our church mission trip to Costa Rica where we worked on building an orphanage and taught vacation Bible school.

JCA kiddos at the U.S. Space and Rocket Center in Huntsville. I had the same initials as Carlos before we were married and we kept it going. A sign that we were meant to be! All of the kids have the same initials too!

If I can give advice to any young couple out there, it is that you can't change someone. Love them for who they are. I'm so thankful he puts up with my running and knows I go crazy without it! Life is balance and I never bat my eye when he goes golfing!

We didn't do anything fancy for each other for our anniversary. We have the trip planned to the Dominican Republic in 2 weeks where we'll celebrate! We are calling it our birthday, mother's day, father's day and anniversary vacation. So in the meantime, we kept things simple. He loved the chocolate covered strawberries! I've done this for years for him!

Yes, I know this post had nothing to do with running or health, but I thought it would be more fun to share who I am. I'm not complete without him!

I am heading out to the gym to get some plyos done! I'll catch everyone up on my sweaty hard work next week. In the meantime, have a fabulous weekend and hydrate before your runs!

bottom of page